We sat down with Holland to discuss her current work and to learn more about her perspective on wellness.

What are you working on now?

I am designing workshops for high school and college students to help them take charge of their finances. I am also developing a proposal for a book that will help people lose their fear of personal finance and use their money to create the lives they want.

Holland on Stress

We all need to be better informed about stress. In a sentence, what should we know to increase our stress IQ?

Being compassionate with ourselves in times of stress doesn’t just feel good; it takes down the tension and boosts our well-being.

Holland on Resilience

How do you define resilience? 

To me, resilience means acknowledging that you have suffered a blow or a setback, and then getting back up and continuing on your path. The key is being aware of a source of strength that can sustain you, whether that is a family member, a friend, or a larger purpose. Then you can set your mind on that thing and draw the strength to pick yourself up.

We all at one time or another have a life experience that challenges our resilience. Can you describe what you learned about your own resilience after such an experience?

Several years ago, I had a serious skiing accident and suffered multiple fractures. I needed surgery and several months of in-patient and out-patient rehab. I focused on a couple of things: my deep commitment to being active, healthy, and engaged with the world, and the incredible support and care I received from friends, family, and community. My conscious awareness and gratitude for that support and my focus on my larger purpose kept me working toward my recovery, and that November I ran an 8K race.